Another EU country opposed the ban on issuing Schengen visas to Russians

Foreign Minister of Hungary péter Szijjártó said on Wednesday that it did not support the plans to introduce a ban on the issuance of Schengen visas for Russian citizens.

“We agree with the position of the Chancellor of Germany and is not planning to introduce any limitations,” he wrote in the social network Facebook*.

Germany, along with Greece and Cyprus last week disagreed with the calls of some other EU countries to prohibit the issuance of visas to citizens of Russia.

Informed about the possibility of a ban on the issuance of Schengen visas to Russians talking in Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Lithuania.

German Chancellor Olaf Scholz said that does not support this idea and that “the Russian people are not to blame”.

It is expected that in late August, the foreign Ministers of EU countries will discuss this issue at a meeting in Prague.

*Banned in Russia as extremist organization